[Skip to content]

Innerpage Banner
Contact CTA


Training from TWI leads to internationally recognised certification – qualifications required by employers all over the world.

CSWIP (Certification Scheme for Welding Personnel)

CSWIP certification demonstrates competency and represents the industry standard in training for non-destructive testing, welding inspection and various related disciplines.

The CSWIP scheme is:

  • an internationally recognised mark of competence for people engaged in welding and/or inspection related jobs in manufacturing, constructing, operating or repairing high integrity welded structures, plant or components

  • an accredited scheme - the UK government's Department of Trade and Industry has accredited CSWIP for personnel certification in accordance with ISO/IEC 17024 through the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS)

In general, the scheme offers three levels of certification - Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3.

There are three simple steps to certification:

  • Mandatory approved training

  • Relevant work experience

  • Examination at a CSWIP Test Centre

For up-to-date information/requirements documents, please visit www.cswip.com


The BGAS-CSWIP certification scheme is primarily aimed at pipeline personnel, but the scope of the subject matter is universal. There are categories within the scheme that reflect established CSWIP subjects like welding and NDT inspection, but it also includes painting, coating and agricultural / environmental matters.

This suite of certification provides a realistic stepping stone for those seeking a career change and represents a real opportunity for established inspectors to extend the scope of their certifications into new areas.

For up-to-date information/requirements documents, please visit BGAS-CSWIP

PCN (Personnel Certification in Non-Destructive Testing)

The PCN scheme, an internationally recognised scheme for the certification and competence of NDT personnel, is accredited as meeting the requirements of European Standards ISO/IEC 17024 and IS0 9712.

In addition, the aerospace sector examinations meet the requirements of EN 4179.

Health, Safety and Environment Certification Schemes

TWI delivers health and safety trainings under two certification schemes of NEBOSH and IOSH. Both certification bodies are internationally recognised for their comprehensive range of vocational qualifications in the field of health, safety, environment and risk management needs for all places of work. 

TWI offers full flexibility with in-house and tailor-made courses to suit the requirements of its clients.

Blended learning and eLearning options are under development and will soon be added to the range of our health and safety courses.


European Welding Federation/International Institute of Welding

International/European Welding Specialist (EWS)
International/European Welding Technologist (EWT)
International/European Welding Engineer (EWE)

  • Part 1: Welding processes and equipment

  • Part 2: Materials and their behaviour

  • Part 3: Construction and design

  • Part 4: Fabrication and applications engineering

The syllabus technical requirements for the above are similar, but the number of training hours differ, as follows:

  • International Welding Specialist - Minimum 222 hours

  • International Welding Technologist - Minimum 340 hours

  • International Welding Engineer - Minimum 446 hours

Current examination format for each level and each part:

International Welding Specialist:

  • 50 multiple choice questions

International Welding Technologist:

  • 3 narrative questions from a choice of 5

International Welding Engineer:

  • 4 narrative questions from a choice of 6

  • The exam paper is replaced by a case study on the fabrication and applications engineering module

  • Nominal 30 minute oral

All examinations are presently ONLY available at the end of the appropriate training modules.